Close this search box.

Worcestershire CRP announces Name the Line competition winners

Competition winner, Sue Lloyd with Worcestershire County Council Cabinet member for transportation, Alan Amos.

Worcestershire Community Rail Partnership has announced the three winners from their Name the Line competition. The line to Droitwich Spa via Bromsgrove to Barnt Green was named by Sue Lloyd and her winning suggestion was the Saltway Line. The Wyre Valley Line was named by Peter McNougher and covers the route serving the towns of Hagley, Blakedown, Kidderminster and Hartlebury. Last, but by no means least, is the line including the stations of Barnt Green, Alvechurch and Redditch which has been named the Arrow Valley Line by Margaret Evans. The winners were announced at Worcester Guildhall during the partnership’s second Anniversary event on Friday 12 November. They received a commemorative memento from Alan Amos, Worcestershire County Council Cabinet member for Transportation.

Colin Major, vice chair of Worcestershire Community Rail Partnership said: “We are delighted that all 18 stations in Worcestershire are now linked to named lines enabling the Community Rail Partnership to promote travel by rail and the stations not only to the local communities, but also to attract visitors to the businesses and places of interest served by the lines.”

The Worcestershire Community Rail Partnership are working with local communities to create station adoption groups of volunteers. One of the latest groups is the Friends of Droitwich Spa Railway Station who started in May and have already cleared and planted flowers in the flower beds and have exciting plans to make the station a more welcoming arming and friendly environment to catch a train.